Electrify Canada Electric Vehicle Charging Station Now Open in Nanaimo

EV drivers now have access to ultra-fast charging at five Electrify Canada stations in British Columbia

Toronto, ON (March 1, 2020) – Charging your electric vehicle (EV) with Electrify Canada is now possible on Vancouver Island following the company’s latest station opening in Nanaimo, located at the Canadian Tire at 4585 Uplands Drive. The station hosts four public ultra-fast chargers compatible with most all EV models and offers the fastest charging speeds available today.

The Nanaimo site is the fifth Electrify Canada location in British Columbia, following openings in Merritt, Hope, Kelowna and Kamloops. As additional stations under development open in the province later this year, a full charging route will soon be available to drivers looking to travel and charge up between Nanaimo and Calgary, along the Trans-Canada highway and Coquihalla.

This latest charging station opening comes as the B.C. provincial government continues to roll out its year-by-year framework to reach the target of 100% electric vehicle sales by 2040. With more Canadians adopting EVs each year, having proper charging infrastructure in place is more of a necessity than ever before.

“We’re encouraged by the support of the British Columbia government and local EV community for electric vehicle adoption as we continue expanding our fast charging network throughout the province,” said Anthony Lambkin, senior director of operations for Electrify Canada. “Our goal is to expand access to fast and convenient EV charging for the growing number of EV drivers, and our newest station in Nanaimo provides Vancouver Island residents and visitors with access to ultra-fast, future-proof charging technology.”

Network Highlights
Electrify Canada made several enhancements to its network over the last year to elevate the consumer charging experience. The Nanaimo station is equipped with an overhead canopy to provide shelter to drivers and vehicles when charging up, which can be especially helpful in the wet, rainy island climate. The canopy also allows for a higher quality nighttime charging experience by providing overhead lighting and increasing the visibility of stations. The company plans to install overhead canopies at all of its locations, during initial station construction for new locations and added retroactively to existing stations. 

EV drivers can rely on the Electrify Canada mobile app for a seamless charging experience – using the app to locate a station, pay, and start, stop and monitor a charging session remotely. The network’s app and website provide specific details on the network’s updated pricing plan, introduced in the fall to streamline power levels and eliminate session fees.

The company maintains its commitment to completing the first phase of its rollout this year, which includes 32 charging stations with a total of 128 fast chargers. More stations can be expected soon in British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec. To locate a charging station and view upcoming locations, visit https://www.electrify-canada.ca/locate-charger.

 

###

About Electrify Canada

Electrify Canada was established in July 2018.  Electrify Canada’s goal is to promote greater Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV) adoption by building a transformative, ultra-fast electric vehicle (EV) direct current (DC) charging infrastructure that gives Canadians the speed and reliability to confidently make the switch to electric. For more information, visit: electrify-canada.ca.

Media Contacts:

For Electrify Canada inquiries, contact:
Miranda Hill, Zeno Group
Phone: 780-904-0552
Email: miranda.hill@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags

Une station de recharge pour véhicules électriques Electrify Canada maintenant ouverte à Nanaimo

Les propriétaires d’un véhicule électrique ont désormais accès à cinq stations de recharge Electrify Canada en Colombie-Britannique

Toronto, ON (1er mars 2020) – Avec l’ajout récent d’une station de recharge à Nanaimo au magasin Canadian Tire du 4585 Uplands Drive, il est maintenant possible de recharger votre véhicule électrique à une installation d’Electrify Canada sur l’île de Vancouver. La station équipée de quatre chargeurs ultrarapides publics compatibles avec la plupart des modèles de véhicules électriques offre les vitesses de recharge les plus rapides actuellement sur le marché.

L’installation de Nanaimo est la cinquième ouverte par Electrify Canada en Colombie-Britannique après celles de Merritt, Hope, Kelowna et Kamloops. Comme d’autres stations en cours de réalisation seront ouvertes plus tard cette année dans la province, les propriétaires d’un véhicule électrique pourront bientôt circuler entre Nanaimo et Calgary tout en ayant accès à des stations de recharge en nombre suffisant sur la Transcanadienne et le Coquihalla Highway.

Cette récente ouverture d’une station de recharge a lieu au moment où le gouvernement provincial de la Colombie-Britannique poursuit le déploiement de son cadre pluriannuel qui vise un ratio de vente de véhicules électriques de 100 % d’ici 2040. Le nombre de Canadiens propriétaires d’un véhicule électrique augmentant chaque année, il est plus que jamais important qu’une infrastructure de recharge adéquate soit en place.

« Nous sommes encouragés par le soutien que le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et la communauté des utilisateurs de véhicules électriques apportent à l’adoption des véhicules électriques alors que nous poursuivons l’expansion de notre réseau de recharge rapide à l’échelle de la province, » a déclaré Anthony Lambkin, directeur principal de l’exploitation d’Electrify Canada. « Notre objectif est d’améliorer l’accès à des installations de recharge rapides et pratiques pour le nombre croissant d’utilisateurs de véhicules électriques, et notre plus récente station de Nanaimo offre aux habitants et visiteurs de l’île de Vancouver l’accès à une technologie de recharge ultrarapide, à l’épreuve du temps. »

Points saillants du réseau
Electrify Canada a apporté plusieurs améliorations à son réseau au cours de la dernière année dans le but de rehausser l’expérience de recharge des consommateurs. La station de Nanaimo est équipée d’un auvent rigide qui offre une protection aux utilisateurs et aux véhicules pendant la recharge, ce qui peut s’avérer particulièrement utile dans le climat humide et pluvieux de l’île. L’auvent rigide assure en outre une meilleure expérience de recharge en fournissant un éclairage plongeant et en augmentant la visibilité des stations. L’entreprise prévoit installer des auvents rigides à tous ses emplacements pendant la phase de construction des nouvelles installations et d’en ajouter rétroactivement aux stations existantes. 

Les utilisateurs d’un véhicule électrique peuvent utiliser l’appli mobile Electrify Canada pour profiter d’une expérience de recharge sans souci, l’appli permettant de localiser une station, de payer, de démarrer la recharge et de la surveiller à distance. L’appli et le site Web du réseau offrent des renseignements précis sur le programme de tarification actualisé qui est entré en vigueur à l’automne dans le but de simplifier les niveaux de puissance et d’éliminer les frais de séance.

L’entreprise poursuit son engagement d’achever cette année la première phase de son déploiement, qui comprend 32 stations de recharge totalisant 128 chargeurs rapides. D’autres stations doivent ouvrir bientôt en Colombie-Britannique, en Ontario et au Québec. Pour trouver une station de recharge et voir les emplacements prévus, consultez https://www.electrify-canada.ca/fr/trouver-une-station/.

 

###

À propos d’Electrify Canada
Electrify Canada a été créée en juillet 2018.  L’objectif d’Electrify Canada est de promouvoir une plus grande adoption des véhicules zéro émission (VZE) en construisant une infrastructure transformatrice de recharge ultrarapide en courant continu (CC) de véhicules électriques (VE) qui donne aux Canadiens la vitesse et la fiabilité dont ils ont besoin pour passer sans crainte à l’électrique. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site : electrify-canada.ca.

Relations avec les médias :
Adressez les demandes de renseignements des médias concernant Electrify Canada à :
Miranda Hill, Zeno Group
Téléphone : 780 904-0552
Courriel : miranda.hill@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags