Electrify Canada Accelerated Growth in 2020 - Adding Fifteen Stations, Expanding into Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec

Network now offers 18 ultra-fast electric vehicle charging station with 72 chargers across Canada

Toronto, ON (February 2, 2021) – Electrify Canada, a provider of publicly available ultra-fast electric vehicle charging, continued its steady pace of growth throughout 2020 with the opening of eight new stations in Ontario and expansion into the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec. The company now offers 18 charging stations with 72 individual fast chargers across four provinces.

In the last few months alone, Electrify Canada opened new locations in Barrie, Hamilton, Kingston, Ottawa, and Sarnia. Each station is equipped with four individual chargers that offer the fastest EV charging available today, at speeds of up to 150kW and 350kW for capable vehicles.

Electrify Canada takes a thoughtful approach to the placement of each of its stations to facilitate a charging experience that is accessible, convenient, and fast. Most of the networks charging locations are on or nearby a major route or highway, and within reach of amenities like shopping, dining and restrooms. The Ontario stations exemplify this approach – adding charge points along major routes between Ottawa and Niagara to allow EV drivers to travel the province with ease.

Since the opening of its first charging station at the Toronto Premium Outlets in fall of 2019, Electrify Canada has sought to deliver greater EV mobility to drivers with the addition of multiple new charging stations in Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, and most recently, Quebec. The network opened its first two stations in the province this month with locations at the Montreal Premium Outlets in Mirabel and farther north in Trois-Rivières.

“Electrify Canada made tremendous progress in the last year, adding fifteen new stations, simplifying our pricing structure and beginning the roll out of overhead canopies to our stations,” said Anthony Lambkin, senior director of operations for Electrify Canada. “With locations now in four provinces, we’re eager to capitalize on this growth and further densify the network – increasing the accessibility of ultra-fast, reliable and convenient charging infrastructure to serve the growing number of Canadians choosing to drive electric.”

“While travel is not an option for most right now, our charging stations remain open as essential services for those needing to travel for work, school, or other government-sanctioned reasons.” said Lambkin.  

New Infrastructure, Competitive Pricing

The growing EV charging network made several major enhancements to its network in the second half of 2020, in aims of strengthening the charging experience beyond the addition of charging stations. Starting in October, Electrify Canada began installing overhead canopies at a number of its locations. Projected to cover the entire network, the canopies provide an especially welcome update this winter to those looking for protection from Canada’s unpredictable elements. The overhead canopies also offer additional lighting for better visibility while charging at night.

Electrify Canada also rolled out a simplified pricing plan in October, providing customers with competitive rates for two power levels, from 1-90kW and 1-350kW, and eliminating session fees. Specific details on the pricing can be found in the Electrify Canada mobile app, which allows users to locate a station, initiate, monitor and pay for a charging session all remotely.

The network will continue to roll out throughout 2021, with a fresh focus on its commitment to open 32 charging stations with a total of 128 fast chargers. Drivers can expect further expansion throughout Ontario with stations in London and Cornwall projected to open by mid-2021. To locate a charging station and view upcoming locations, visit https://www.electrify-canada.ca/locate-charger.

Electrify Canada locations open in Ontario:

  • Canadian Tire, 75 Mapleview Dr W, Barrie, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 2360 Parkedale Ave, Brockville, ON
  • Toronto Premium Outlets, 13850 Steeles Ave W, Halton Hills, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 686 Queenston Road, Hamilton, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 2560 Princess St, Kingston, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 330 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 441 Gibb St, Oshawa, ON
  • Manulife, 1330 Exmouth St, Sarnia, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 4630 Sheppard Ave E, Scarborough, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 37 Mill St E, Tilbury, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 158 Primeway Dr, Welland, ON

Electrify Canada locations open in Alberta, British Columbia, and Quebec:

  • Shops of Canmore, 300 Old Canmore Rd, Canmore, AB
  • District of Hope, 349 Fort St., Hope, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 1441 Hillside Dr, Kamloops, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 1655 Leckie Rd, Kelowna, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 2761 Forksdale Ave, Merritt, BC
  • Montreal Premium Outlets, 19001 Chemin Notre Dame, Mirabel, QC
  • Canadian Tire, 3525 Boulevard Des Forges, Trois-Rivières, QC

 

###

About Electrify Canada

Electrify Canada was established in July 2018.  Electrify Canada’s goal is to promote greater Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV) adoption by building a transformative, ultra-fast electric vehicle (EV) direct current (DC) charging infrastructure that gives Canadians the speed and reliability to confidently make the switch to electric. For more information, visit: electrify-canada.ca.

Media Contacts:

For Electrify Canada inquiries, contact:

Miranda Hill, Zeno Group
Phone: 780-904-0552
Email: miranda.hill@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags

Croissance accélérée d'Electrify Canada en 2020 : ajout de quinze stations et expansion en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec

Le réseau offre maintenant 18 stations de recharge ultrarapides pour véhicules électriques, comptant 72 chargeurs au Canada

Toronto, ON (2 février 2021) – Electrify Canada, un fournisseur de recharge ultrarapide publique pour véhicules électriques, a poursuivi sa croissance soutenue en 2020 avec l’ouverture de huit nouvelles stations en Ontario et son expansion dans les provinces de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique et du Québec. L’entreprise offre maintenant 18 stations de recharge comptant 72 chargeurs rapides individuels dans quatre provinces.

Au cours des derniers mois seulement, Electrify Canada a ouvert de nouveaux emplacements à Barrie, Hamilton, Kingston, Ottawa et Sarnia. Chaque station est équipée de quatre chargeurs rapides offrant la recharge de véhicules électriques la plus rapide sur le marché, à des vitesses pouvant atteindre de 150 kW à 350 kW pour les véhicules qui les prennent en charge.

C’est au terme d’une réflexion approfondie d’Electrify Canada qu’est choisi l’emplacement de chacune des stations afin d’assurer une expérience de recharge accessible, pratique et rapide. La plupart des emplacements de recharge du réseau sont situés sur une route principale ou une autoroute, ou à proximité, et à courte distance de commodités comme des magasins, des restaurants et des toilettes. Les stations de l’Ontario illustrent cette approche, avec l’ajout de points de recharge le long des routes principales entre Ottawa et Niagara qui permettent aux conducteurs de véhicules électriques de se déplacer aisément d’un bout à l’autre de la province.

Depuis l’ouverture à l’automne 2019 de sa première station de recharge à Toronto Premium Outlets, Electrify Canada s’efforce d’offrir une plus grande mobilité aux propriétaires de véhicules électriques avec l’ajout de nombreuses nouvelles stations de recharge en Ontario, en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique et, plus récemment, au Québec. Le réseau a ouvert ses deux premières stations dans la belle province ce mois-ci à Montreal Premium Outlets à Mirabel et, un peu plus au nord, à Trois-Rivières.

« Electrify Canada a fait des progrès impressionnants au cours de la dernière année avec l’ajout de quinze nouvelles stations, la simplification de sa structure de tarification et la construction d’auvents rigides à ses stations, » a affirmé Anthony Lambkin, directeur principal de l’exploitation d’Electrify Canada. « Avec des stations maintenant dans quatre provinces, nous sommes impatients de récolter les fruits de cette croissance pour poursuivre la densification du réseau et ainsi augmenter l’accessibilité de notre infrastructure de recharge ultrarapide, fiable et pratique pour répondre aux besoins du nombre grandissant de Canadiens qui ont choisi de conduire un véhicule électrique. »

« Bien que les voyages ne font pas partie des options actuellement pour la plupart des gens, nos stations de recharge demeurent ouvertes pour répondre aux besoins essentiels des personnes qui doivent se rendre au travail ou à l’école, ou qui doivent se déplacer pour toute autre raison autorisée par le gouvernement », a déclaré Lambkin.  

Nouvelle infrastructure, tarification concurrentielle

Le réseau en pleine croissance de recharge pour véhicules électriques a connu, pendant la seconde moitié de 2020, plusieurs améliorations importantes, qui visaient à rehausser l’expérience de recharge au-delà du simple ajout de stations de recharge. En octobre, Electrify Canada a commencé à installer des auvents rigides à plusieurs de ses emplacements. Les auvents rigides, qui doivent ultimement être installés dans tous les emplacements, sont une amélioration particulièrement appréciée cet hiver par les utilisateurs souhaitant une protection contre les intempéries imprévisibles du Canada. Ces auvents rigides offrent en outre un surcroît d’éclairage qui améliore la visibilité pour les recharges effectuées lorsqu’il fait noir.

Electrify Canada a également lancé un plan de tarification simplifié en octobre, qui offre aux consommateurs des taux concurrentiels pour deux niveaux de puissance, de 1 à 90 kW et de 1 à 350 kW, et élimine des frais de séance. Les renseignements détaillés sur la tarification peuvent être consultés dans l’appli Electrify Canada, qui permet aux utilisateurs de trouver une station, et démarrer, suivre et payer une séance de recharge, le tout à distance.

Le réseau poursuivra son déploiement pendant 2021 et se concentrera sur son engagement d’ouvrir 32 stations de recharge comptant 128 chargeurs rapides. Les propriétaires de véhicules électriques peuvent compter sur la poursuite de l’expansion du réseau en Ontario avec l’ouverture prévue de stations à London et Cornwall d’ici le milieu de 2021. Pour trouver une station de recharge et voir les emplacements prévus, consultez https://www.electrify-canada.ca/fr/trouver-une-station/.

Stations d’Electrify Canada ouvertes en Ontario :

  • Canadian Tire, 75 Mapleview Dr W, Barrie, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 2360 Parkedale Ave, Brockville, ON
  • Toronto Premium Outlets, 13850 Steeles Ave W, Halton Hills, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 686 Queenston Road, Hamilton, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 2560 Princess St, Kingston, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 330 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 441 Gibb St, Oshawa, ON
  • Manulife, 1330 Exmouth St, Sarnia, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 4630 Sheppard Ave E, Scarborough, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 37 Mill St E, Tilbury, ON
  • Canadian Tire, 158 Primeway Dr, Welland, ON

Stations d’Electrify Canada ouvertes en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec :

  • Shops of Canmore, 300 Old Canmore Rd, Canmore, AB
  • District of Hope, 349 Fort St., Hope, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 1441 Hillside Dr, Kamloops, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 1655 Leckie Rd, Kelowna, BC
  • Canadian Tire, 2761 Forksdale Ave, Merritt, BC
  • Montreal Premium Outlets, 19001, chemin Notre-Dame, Mirabel, QC
  • Canadian Tire, 3525, boulevard des Forges, Trois-Rivières, QC

 

###

À propos d’Electrify Canada
Electrify Canada a été créée en juillet 2018.  L’objectif d’Electrify Canada est de promouvoir une plus grande adoption des véhicules zéro émission (VZE) en construisant une infrastructure transformatrice de recharge ultrarapide en courant continu (CC) de véhicules électriques (VE) qui donne aux Canadiens la vitesse et la fiabilité dont ils ont besoin pour passer sans crainte à l’électrique. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site : electrify-canada.ca.

Adressez les demandes de renseignements des médias concernant Electrify Canada à :

Miranda Hill, Zeno Group
780 904-0552
miranda.hill@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags