Electrify Canada to Install Overhead Canopies at Electric Vehicle Charging Stations Across Canada

New addition to station design will provide EV drivers with year-round protection from the unpredictable Canadian elements

Toronto, ON (September 22, 2020) – Electrify Canada is enhancing the charging experience for electric vehicle (EV) drivers by announcing the addition of overhead coverings to many of its charging stations. For EV drivers who have likely battled pelting rain, blazing heat or an iconic Canadian snowstorm while trying to charge up, this is a welcome update.

Constructed of aluminum, the canopies will provide broad coverage of Electrify Canada’s charging stations, sheltering drivers from the elements and making the experience of charging up in inclement weather safer and more accessible. Additionally, the canopies will provide overhead lighting – increasing the visibility of charging stations to make them even easier to locate and improving the nighttime charging experience.

“Electrify Canada already provides a quick and convenient way to charge up your EV, and we believe the installation of these new canopies will further enhance the charging experience at our stations,” said Robert Barrosa, chief operating officer, Electrify Canada. “While we can’t control the weather, we can help the drivers using our chargers feel sheltered and protected from whatever Mother Nature throws at them.”

The first canopy has been installed at the Canadian Tire in Agincourt. The fast-charging network plans to extend the overhead protection to the majority of its locations, with the goal of covering all stations.

Electrify Canada opened its first ultra-fast EV charging station in Toronto in the fall of 2019. Since then, five additional Ontario locations have opened. June 2020 signified the expansion of Electrify Canada into western Canada when the first B.C. station opened in Merritt. In phase one of development, 32 locations with a total of 128 chargers are slated for construction across four provinces. Each Electrify Canada location offers at least four chargers with power levels up to 350kW—the fastest charging currently available for EVs in Canada.

 

###

 

About Electrify Canada

Electrify Canada was established in May 2018.  Electrify Canada’s goal is to promote greater Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV) adoption by building a transformative, ultra-fast electric vehicle (EV) direct current (DC) charging infrastructure that gives Canadians the speed and reliability to confidently make the switch to electric. For more information, visit: electrify-canada.ca and media.electrify-canada.ca.

For media inquiries, contact:
Cassandra Ward, Zeno Group
647-218-9210
cassandra.ward@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags

Electrify Canada installera des abris au-dessus de stations de recharge à l'échelle du Canada

Cet ajout à ses stations actuelles offrira aux conducteurs de véhicules électriques (VE) une protection à l’année contre les éléments imprévisibles du climat canadien

Toronto, ON (Le 22 septembre 2020) – Electrify Canada vient agrémenter l’expérience des conducteurs de VE en annonçant l’ajout de couvertures aériennes au-dessus de plusieurs de ses stations de recharge. Pour les conducteurs de VE ayant sûrement déjà combattu une pluie battante, une chaleur accablante ou une fameuse tempête de neige canadienne, cette nouvelle sera certainement bien accueillie.

Construits en aluminium, ces abris procureront une vaste couverture aux stations de recharge d’Electrify Canada, afin de protéger les conducteurs des éléments de la nature et d’offrir une expérience de recharge plus sécuritaire et accessible, à l’abri des intempéries. De plus, ces abris seront entièrement illuminés, pour un repérage plus facile et une meilleure visibilité des stations de recharge, en plus de procurer une expérience simplifiée en soirée.

« Electrify Canada offre déjà une façon rapide et pratique de recharger votre EV, et nous croyons que l’installation de ces abris agrémentera davantage l’expérience de recharge à nos stations », a affirmé Robert Barrosa, chef de l’exploitation, Electrify Canada. « Bien qu’il nous soit impossible de contrôler la météo, nous pouvons aider nos utilisateurs à se sentir à l’abri et protégés des caprices de Dame Nature. »

Le premier abri a été installé au Canadian Tire d’Agincourt. Le réseau de recharge rapide planifie également munir la majorité de ses stations et, éventuellement, doter toutes ses stations de cette commodité.

Electrify Canada a ouvert son premier poste de recharge ultra-rapide pour VE à Toronto à l’automne 2019. Depuis, cinq autres stations se sont ajoutées. En juin 2020, Electrify Canada a élargi son offre dans l’Ouest canadien en installant une première station à Merritt, en Colombie-Britannique. Dans la première phase du développement, 32 stations, totalisant 128 bornes, sont présentement en projet de construction dans quatre provinces. Chaque station d’Electrify Canada est dotée d’au moins quatre bornes de recharge et offre une puissance de recharge allant jusqu’à 350kW, la vitesse de recharge la plus rapide actuellement disponible pour les EV au Canada.

 

###

À propos d’Electrify Canada

Electrify Canada a été fondée en mai 2018.  L’objectif de l’entreprise est d’encourager les conducteurs à faire l’acquisition d’un véhicule à zéro émission en construisant des infrastructures évolutives et ultra-rapides à courant continu offrant aux Canadiens la vitesse et la fiabilité qui les convaincront de passer en mode électrique. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez: electrify-canada.ca et media.electrify-canada.ca.

Pour tout demande des médias, veuillez communiquer avec
Cassandra Ward, Zeno Group
647-218-9210
cassandra.ward@zenogroup.com

Share

Languages

Media Usage Terms

I agree that all creative assets including but not limited to photos, logos, sketches, images and artwork are for
editorial use only. All commercial use of these creative assets, including but not limited to advertising,
marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited.

I agree to these terms and conditions
Back to top

Category Tags